AETTNL Fall Vol. 4 – November 30, 2018

  • Stakeholder Report
  • AETTNL 2018/19 Scholarship Winners and Teacher Excellence Award
  • AETTNL 50th AGM Photo Album
  • Annual AETTNL Membership Renewals Reminders

Stakeholder Committee Report 


The stakeholders committee strives to promote the association and the value of certification, with emphasis on making us known to our stakeholders.  Our ongoing involvement in doing presentations at the College of the North Atlantic and the Marine Institute, promoting our industry information package, and representing AETTNL at other professional associations’ functions is important in making people aware of “who we are and what we do”; and this work continues.

In support of promoting the association, the committee is eager to recognize the valuable work of our office staff to transition AETTNL into the social media world. Their work to develop, organize, and manage our promotion on various social media sites has done well to reach existing members of the association and provide association information to interested people and groups.  We also recognize their work of actively maintaining contact with members, and in distributing our industry information package.  The committee, and the association, appreciates the valuable work of Sharon Beattie and Paula Hayes in managing and promoting AETTNL.

The interest of our valued stakeholders is foremost in our activities to promote our association, the value of certification, and the technology profession in Canada.  We believe that by utilizing our valuable human resources, technology, and collaboration, we will a build the memberships of our provincial associations, and acknowledgment of the value we provide as technology professionals.

We look forward to continuing this work and thank everyone for their participation.


Newton C. Pritchett, BTech, PTech

AETTNL 2018/19 Scholarship Winners

AETTNL is very pleased to announce the winners of the 15 scholarships recently awarded at our 50th AGM and two campusses of the College of North Atlantic. A complete photo album is available on our website.

These eleven $500 awards are given to second or third year, full-time students enrolled in a Technician or Technology program that is accredited by the Canadian Technology Accreditation Board; and who have achieved a minimum academic weighted grade of 75%.

AETTNL is pleased to announce that the 2018 AETTNL College Scholarship Award Recipients are:
1.    Nicholas Coates, third year Architectural;
2.    Nicholas Hollett, second year mechanical;
3.    Susan Stephen, third year Architectural;
4.    John Westcott, third year Petroleum; and
5.    Martin Whiffen, second year Mechanical.
6.    Stephen Brown, third year Industrial;
7.    Cailey Drover, third year Industrial;
8.    David Gagne, third year Mechanical;
9.    Ashley Marsh, third year Petroleum;
10.  Myles Morgan, third year Mechanical; and
11.  Bradley Way, second year Electrical.

TD Meloche Monnex Scholarships

TD Meloche Monnex offers two (2) annual scholarships of $500 each, to students enrolled in a nationally accredited Technician or Technology program. These scholarships recognize and reward academic excellence displayed by AETTNL student members.

1. Micheal Mahre, third year Civil; and
2. Kaiden Clarke, third year Mechanical

Dr. Ian McMaster Scholarship
The Association of Engineering Technicians and Technologists of Newfoundland and Labrador “Dr. Ian McMaster Scholarship” in the amount of $1,000.00 will be awarded to a student who is a resident of Newfoundland and Labrador.

1. Peter Cook, third year, Civil

Lloyd Murchy CET Scholarship Criteria and Application
The Association of Engineering Technicians and Technologists of Newfoundland and Labrador “Lloyd Murchy CET Scholarship” in the amount of $1,000.00 will be awarded to students who are residents of Newfoundland and Labrador.

1. Alexander Oates, third year, Civil

Teacher Excellence Award
We are very pleased and excited to launch this new award recognizing Excellence in Teaching.  The impact on students who are future Technicians and Technologists is in valuable.

This award is to honor any current permanent full-time faculty member of a Newfoundland and Labrador public college program of studies, who is a member in good standing with the Association of Engineering Technicians and Technologists of Newfoundland and Labrador (AETTNL) and teaches in a nationally accredited program of studies as recognized by the Canadian Technology Accredited Board.

This instructor was nominated by several students and fellow colleagues from the College of the North Atlantic Ridge Road Campus.

As an Architectural Engineering Technology instructor with College of the North Atlantic’s (CNA) Ridge Road campus in St. John’s. He has been employed with CNA in this position for a total of 26 years – between 2001-present, and 1988-1997. Besides being an instructor, he has also volunteered his time as a student advisor/mentor in Service Learning, which serves to co-ordinate service learning community engagement projects, for the past 15 years. Cluny proudly notes that he is “first and foremost a professional who is a graduate of College of the North Atlantic and a Certified Engineering Technologist (CET).”

The inaugural winner of this new award is Mr. Cluny Way, CET.

AETTNL 50th Annual General Meeting (AGM) Photo Album 

Click on the following link of our website to see the photos of our recent Annual General Meeting.  Thank you to all our members, guests and sponsors for a successful 50th AGM!

2018/19 AETTNL Membership Renewals

2018/19 AETTNL Membership Renewals have all been sent, if you have not gotten yours or if you need to update your information, please contact the office. Your prompt payment will be greatly appreciated and for those who have already paid thank you!